Know About India - Amazing Facts about Incredible India

Incredible India Facts:

India in ancient times is one of the richest country in the world. Sanskrit, the mother of all languages is the classical language of Hinduism. 

Also, it is the official language of Uttarakhand State. 15th August is celebrated as the Independence Day of India. 

India has 29 States, 1 NCR (National Capital Region) and 7 Union Territories. According to 2014 reports, the country population is roughly estimated to be around 1.27 billion. 

Thus, modern India showcases a glorious picture of unity in diversity. In India 80% of the population follow Hinduism. 

Apart from Hinduism, secular India is home to other popular religious traditions like Christianity, Sikhism, Jainism, Islam, Buddhism, Zoroastrianism and so on. 

Incredible India:

India derived its name from Indus River, the ancient valley home to early Aryan settlers.

India is the world's oldest civilization and has the largest democracy.

Number zero was invented by Aryabhatta and yoga has its origins in this Holy country.

The popular chess game was invented in this country only.

India has never invaded other lands in her past 10,000 years.

The earliest Indian civilization dates back to 3000BC.

Meenakshi Temple, Dilwara Temples, ISKCON Temple, Akshardham Temples, Lotus Temple, Mahanandi Temple, Tirupati Balaji Temple etc. are the names of some of the famous temples of India. 

These places are marked by a number of holy temples, which were built by the great Indian kings.

Top Ten Famous Monuments of India

  • 1. Taj Mahal in Agra, Uttar Pradesh
  • 2. Charminar in Hyderabad, Telangana
  • 3. Hawa Mahal in Jaipur, Rajasthan
  • 4. Golden Temple in Amritsar, Punjab
  • 5. Lake Palace in Udaipur, Rajasthan
  • 6. Khajuraho Temples in Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
  • 7. Mysore Palace in Mysore, Karnataka 
  • 8. Qutub Minar in Delhi
  • 9. Victoria Memorial in Kolkata, West Bengal
  • 10. Ajanta Ellora Caves in Aurangabad, Maharashtra
Top Ten Famous Temples in India

  • 1. Swaminarayan Akshardham Temple in Pandav Nagar, New Delhi
  • 2. Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple in Tirumala, Andhra Pradesh
  • 3. Meenakshi Amman Temple in Madurai, Tamil Nadu
  • 4. Kedarnath Temple in Kedarnath, Uttarakhand
  • 5. Somnath Temple in Veraval, Gujarat
  • 6. Shree Jagannath Temple in Puri, Orissa
  • 7. Shri Kashi Vishwanath Mandir in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
  • 8. Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
  • 9. Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Temple in Bhavan, Jammu and Kashmir
  • 10. Sai Baba Temple in Shirdi, Maharashtra

Here is a brief description about Indian States and Union Territories along with their capital city and their official languages.

Also, visit State-Wise Indian Temples List for brief information about some of popular Indian temples and other tourist attractions in each of the Indian states.

State: Andhra Pradesh
Capital: Amaravati
Official Language: Telugu
State: Arunachal Pradesh
Capital: Itanagar
Official Language: Adi and Tani 
State: Assam
Capital: Dispur 
Official Language: Assamese and Bodo
State: Bihar
Capital: Patna 
Official Language: Hindi and Urdu
State: Chattisgarh
Capital: Raipur 
Official Language: Hindi and Chhattisgarhi
State: Delhi (Union Territory)
Official Language: Hindi, English, Punjabi and Urdu
State: Goa
Capital: Panaji (Administrative) and Mumbai (Judicial) 
Official Language: Konkani
State: Gujarat
Capital: Gandhinagar 
Official Language: Gujarati
State: Haryana
Capital: Chandigarh 
Official Language: Hindi
State: Himachal Pradesh
Capital: Shimla 
Official Language: Kangri, Punjabi, Pahari and Hindi
State: Jammu and Kashmir
Capital: Srinagar (Summer) and Jammu (Winter) 
Official Language: Dogri, Kashmiri and Urdu 
State: Jharkhand
Capital: Ranchi 
Official Language: Sadri, Bengali, Hindi and Urdu
State: Karnataka
Capital: Bangalore 
Official Language: Kannada
State: Kerala
Capital: Thiruvananthapuram 
Official Language: Malayalam
State: Madhya Pradesh
Capital: Bhopal 
Official Language: Hindi
State: Maharashtra
Capital: Mumbai, Nagpur (Auxiliary) 
Official Language: Marathi
State: Manipur
Capital: Imphal
Official Language: Manipuri
State: Meghalaya
Capital: Shillong 
Official Language: English, Khasi and Garo
State: Mizoram
Capital: Aizawl
Official Language: Mizo language
State: Nagaland
Capital: Kohima
Official Language: Nagamese Creole
State: Odisha
Capital: Bhubaneshwar
Official Language: Oriya
State: Punjab
Capital: Chandigarh
Official Language: Punjabi
State: Rajasthan
Capital: Jaipur
Official Language: English and Hindi
State: Sikkim
Capital: Gangtok
Official Language: Nepali
State: Tamil Nadu
Capital: Chennai
Official Language: Tamil
State: Telangana
Capital: Hyderabad
Official Language: Telugu and Urdu
State: Tripura
Capital: Agartala
Official Language: Bengali and Kokborok
State: Uttar Pradesh
Capital: Lucknow (Legislative) and Allahabad (Judicial)
Official Language: Hindi
State: Uttaranchal
Capital: Dehradun
Official Language: Garhwali and Kumaoni
State: West Bengal
Capital: Kolkata
Official Language: Bengali
State: Chandigarh (Union Territory)
Official Language: Punjabi
State: Dadra and Nagar Haveli (Union Territory)
Capital: Silvassa
Official Language: Gujarati
State: Daman and Diu (Union Territory)
Capital: Daman
Official Language: Gujarati, English and Hindi
State: Lakshadweep (Union Territory)
Capital: Kavarrati
Official Language: Malayalam
State: Puducherry or Pondicherry (Union Territory)
Official Language: Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and French

You May Also Like Reading